What is versioning?
Frozen versions are a way to create a snapshot in time of your design so that you can visually track significant architectural decisions you and your teammates have made over time. This can be purely for the whole landscape or can follow your product release cycles and version each System and App individually, as well as the project (Growth feature)
Frozen versions are static, the diagrams and content cannot be edited and they cannot be removed from your landscape to allow people to help learn your System design evolution. You can however go back and retroactively edit the version name and notes in the timeline.
How to create a frozen version
To freeze a version of your landscape:
- Click the
Version: Latestdropdown under your landscape name at the top centre
- Click the
- Give a version number and a reason to help you track your and/or your organizations design evolution later on
- You can either view that version in the timeline or continue editing the latest version.
Creating a version of a landscape
The version timeline
The version timeline is a visual way to track the versions of your model and diagrams. You can see where each diagram has existed within the timeline of your landscape, and the changes that happen between each version.
A diagrams existence is shown by the blue line on the timeline and if that diagram did not exist at a hovered over version, on click you will go to the first diagram of that version.
Click each version number to skip to that version and hovering on each version will show the notes, who created the version, the date it was created. You can also share that version, discussed more below
Viewing the version timeline
Sharing a version
You can share a version by going to the version you want to share in the timeline, and then using the same share button as a normal share. When on the share screen you will see that you are sharing the version name or number that you are currently viewing.
Sharing a frozen version from the version timeline
You can version a System and all the Apps within individually to the project by going into the System you want to freeze, opening the version dropdown at the top centre and selecting "Freeze this System".
This will freeze the System, Apps within and diagrams that the System holds.
Creating a version of a System and Apps within
You can version an App and all the Systems within individually to the project and parent System by going into the App you want to freeze, opening the version dropdown at the top centre and selecting "Freeze this App".
This will freeze the App, Components within and diagrams that the App holds.
Creating a version of an App and Components within